AmperDan's Monday Night Pop

AmperDan’s Monday Night Pop! Playlist for April 16, 2012

Tuesday, April 17

Tons of new releases by local Bay Area indie bands got an airing on “DJ AmperDan’s Monday Night Pop!” last night. Okay, not tons, but quite a few. Most notably new tracks from Books on Tape, Fake Your Own Death, and the brand new album from Loquat.


I received a copy of the new Loquat album, “We Could Be Arsonists” last week, and it has been on infinite repeat in my player ever since. I love Loquat. With their sophisticated melodies, smooth grooves, heartfelt lyrics, and Kylee’s amazing vocals, they are one of the most interesting pop bands anywhere. And it’s been too long since we’ve had any new music from them. So “We Could Be Arsonists” arrived to eager ears.

And it does not disappoint. It is everything we’ve come to expect form this fine band. Every song is rich, deep, and full of nuances. You can get lost in the lyrics, in the musical structures, in the individual instrumental parts, or just put it on and dance. The songs seem straight forward enough that you can enjoy it as a casual listen, or you can put on your headphones and delve deep into the nuances. And it’s one of those albums that reveals its secrets with repeated listenings.

“We Could Be Arsonists” certainly is worth the wait, and shows that Loquat haven’t been sitting on their past laurels. It is everything a Loquat fan could want, and certain to win them new fans as well. I anticipate if being the soundtrack of this summer.

I’ve got say; it took a great deal of restraint to limit myself to playing only three tracks from the album on the show. I was so tempted to just play it for the two hours I was on the air.

But there were other tracks too that I was excited to share as well.

The Love Me Nots recorded a cover of The Doors “Soul Kitchen” in their living room for a Phoenix TV News spot on the band. It was so slinky, and sensuous, and sexy that I had to have a copy, so I wrote to the band and asked them. Nicole said it was only a rough recording, but it doesn’t matter. There is something in this casual performance that is so cool. I love it.

The song has a special place in Nicole and Michael’s history. The story goes that Nicole’s previous band played the song and offered a prize if anyone in the audience could name what other band recorded a definitive version of the song. Michael was in the audience, and got the answer right, winning not only the door prize but also Nicole’s phone number, making him a winner on three fronts. He got the door prize, a new band, and a date with his future wife. Pretty cool for knowing that X also recorded the song.

Other new tracks making their debut on the show: Books on Tape’s “Myth of Trust”, Fake Your Own Death’s “Clever”, and Persephone’s Bees’ “Liars”. All deserving a paragraph or two, but time is short and I still have to do my taxes. So it will have to wait for another time. But rest assured, they all rock!

You can check out these and all the songs on tonight’s show by listening to the podcast.

And speaking of the podcast . . .

You can listen to this show, any past show, or any of the other Radio Valencia show by visiting our website (, clicking the “Podcast” link, and scrolling to the show. There you can download, stream, or subscribe to the podcast of any Radio Valencia show. I suggest you shop around. That’s what makes a station like Radio Valencia so much fun. It’s eclectic.

You can subscribe to my show by visiting  . . . “!” That way you never miss a one.

Now here’s the playlist!

The Playlist

  • Mister Loveless – June
  • The Waterboys – Fisherman’s Blues
  • That Dog – Punk Rock Girl
  • The Yellow Dress – The Window
  • Lou Lou and The Guitarfish – I May Never Grow Up
  • The Aerosols – She’s So Far Gone
  • The Bangles – Open My Eyes
  • The Love Me Nots – Soul Kitchen
  • Loquat – Time Bending
  • Excuses for Skipping – Helena
  • Fake Your Own Death – Clever
  • The Child – The President
  • Girl in A Coma – As The World Falls Down
  • Persephone’s Bees – Liars
  • A B & The Sea – Down and Around
  • Nicki Bluhm – Before You Loved Me
  • Best Coast – The Only Place
  • Loquat – We Could Be Arsonists
  • Mister Loveless – Wild Summer
  • The She’s – Fabian
  • Feral Kizzy – Bee Charmer
  • Kill Moi – Stranger’s Kiss
  • Books on Tape – Myth of Trust
  • Coco Morier – Explosion
  • Loquat – Change of Scenery
  • Girl Named T – Raven Fly



Every Monday Night, 10:00 pm to Midnight


Podcasts of Past Shows:!

Leave a Reply

These tags are ok:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>